The Avengers: Infinity War trailer is out now and Disney calls it “an unprecedented cinematic journey 10 years in the making and spanning the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe.”

The trailer for the upcoming Avengers movie has been released this morning and it promises an “all or nothing” – stake kind of action. This time, they, joined by powerful allies, must defeat an unusually mystic villain.

The anti-hero is named Thanos and he aims to complete his collection of Infinity Stones, six in all. There artifacts hold tremendous power and with them, his reign over all of reality would be absolute.

The trailer begins with the voices of the superheroes saying: “There was an idea to bring together a group of remarkable people, to see if we could become something more, so when they needed us, we could fight the battles that they never could”.

Infinity War casts some old names in the superhero movies, as well as some new entries:

Robert Downey Jr – Iron Man

Josh Brolin – Thanos

Mark Ruffalo – Hulk

Tom Hiddeston – Loki

Chris Evans – Captain America

Chris Hemsworth – Thor

Jeremy Renner – Hawkeye

Chris Pratt – Star-Lord

Elizabeth Olsen – Scarlet Witch

Sebastian Stan – Winter Soldier

Benedict Clumberbatch – Doctor Strange

Paul Bettany – Vision

Cobie Smulders – Maria Hill

Zoe Saldana – Gamora

Benedict Wong – Wong

Vin Diesel – Groot

Bradley Cooper – Rocket

Scarlett Johansson – Black Widow

Benicio del Toro – The Collector

Tom Holland – Spiderman

Anthony Mackie – Falcon

Paul Rudd – Ant-Man

Don Cheadle – War Machine

Chadwick Boseman – Black Panther

The movie is produced by Anthony and Joe Russo.

Infinity War will hit theaters in the United States on May 4, 2018. The initial release will take place on April 25, in The Netherleands

Until then, we can only judge the film by its trailer…or was it a book by its cover? Either way, here is the much-awaited trailer: